|
Makezine in its blog reported that Yoonjo Choi has modernized her old typewriter by adding force sensors and monitor connectivity, so that her old photographs can now be flipped quickly through projection. The way in which her old photo displays on the monitor possesses a magical effect. The project draws attention to the photos in a way that a digital slideshow or picture frame cannot. The most amazing feature is that you can only see the photo when you type at a certain rate. For example, if you type less than five letters within ten seconds you will only get a vague outline of the photo. If you type more than five and less than ten letters it gets a bit more crisp, and so forth. Watch out this video to know more about this hacked Typewriter:
|
|
You think these scammers from Global PC Protection (they often call themselves Global IT) would have me on their do not call list after the fun we had with them in Part 1 and part 2. I figured that would be the last we ever heard of them. Well to my surprise I got another cold call from one of their agents warning me that my computer has once again been sending them errors and warnings. I just had a bit of fun with them before I again told them who I was. Guess what, they were not very pleased about this and they started to delete a bunch of system files, browsed to a porn site and attempted to format my hard drive. I guess they still didn’t realize that they were just playing around in a VM. The video is quite long, here are the highlights.
|
|
If you haven’t seen part 1 you should watch some of that video to get caught up. This is part 2 of Hacked Gadgets following the techniques that computer scammers called Global PC Protection use. Part 1 was called Hacked Gadgets has fun with Computer Scammer called Global IT because at that point they were just calling themselves Global IT but through this investigation they revealed their main website. Their main website is www.globalpcprotection.com. I have done some research and found out that this organization has been at it for quite a while. When there is enough awareness about their scam they change their name. Their last business name was Consult PC Experts (www.consultpcexperts.com). If you have a look at the web site screen shots below you can still see lots of references to the old Consult PC Experts site. On a side note I was looking for site registration information for the old domain and guess what, the domain name expired 2 months ago and was never renewed. I wonder who could be the new owner of consultpcexperts.com. To keep my equipment safe I have setup a VM (virtual machine), this VM has no way to interact with any of the computers on my network so they can mess around all they want in this sandbox and are not able to do any harm. The VM is just an image I had handy, it is a very old virgin install of Window XP which works fine but is old. What they should have immediately done is spot this and install the hundreds of Windows updates that this system needs. During their playing many pieces of software don’t install, I believe that this is because this is an old version of Windows XP (pre SP2). I am using some test credit card numbers from a coding site, these credit card numbers would normally be used when testing credit card validation scripts. The numbers on the site are random valid numbers based on the Luhn formula. At the beginning I was just going to have a short bit of fun with these jokers but they didn’t catch any of the blatant clues I left for them. I changed the DNS server setting to Open DNS, the first time they asked me for my credit card details they took me to a payment page on swreg.org which is a legitimate payment site. I configured Open DNS to block swreg.org, when blocked it would display their phone number as the technical assistance phone number and their company name in logo form. It wasn’t their real logo though as I didn’t know about their real website at that point. I thought as soon as they saw this they would have some choice words and that would be the end. As it turned out they were not very swift and just kept the payment carrot laser focused as their main goal. When they took me to another payment site I also entered that domain into Open DNS block list but it takes 10 or 15 minutes for a block to take effect so it worked for a long time before it also got blocked. The names I have been given by the agents are: Sam, Jack Morris, David Smith, Alex Murphy, Jason, James Parker.
Video Timeline
|
|
A friend of mine took this picture of his Geeky Odometer. Take a close look to see what makes it geeky. |
|
Happy Halloween everyone. This Devil’s Brain in Blood Sauce is something you can make to creep out some of your Halloween guests! Thanks to our friend Rick Crammond for making it. “Ingredients: Cauliflower “Brain”: “Blood” Sauce:
|
|
Who says a lawn ornament is only for sticking on your lawn? If you are Brian Dougherty from SubBass100 this is just the beginning of a cool costume! This Costume made from Stay Puft Marshmallow Man Inflatable Lawn Ornament looks great and could be used for lots of occasions. He will be scaring unsuspecting kids on Halloween, that is sure to make some great video.
|
|
I got this call a few days ago. It was from the Technical Department of my Windows Computer called Global IT. As he puts it they are the “job workers of the Windows”. An Indian guy calling himself Sam informed me that my computer has been sending them errors and warnings. I was just going to have a few minutes of fun with the guy but when he asked if I was the owner of the computer it gave me some time to start a recording and start from the beginning with the guy. They have you open the Event Viewer and look at the errors and warnings. I guess this is enough of a convincer to some that backs up their bogus claims. I was using my laptop computer so I went along with his requests until they wanted to remotely log onto my machine. I said that my internet wasn’t working and he should call back, when they called back I had them play with a fresh copy of Windows XP running in a virtual machine. I let them go through the entire scam until they got to the pitch where they say they can provide a new Windows maintenance warranty for a fee. They wanted immediate payment so I simply told him that I didn’t have a cent. I am wondering what type of phone service they are using to direct their calls from their 646-867-3751 number? I would think the scammers could be tracked down by the person paying for this number.
The video is quite long, here are the highlights.
|